Your browser is not supported. Please update it.

Club History

Since our beginning in 1906, Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club has been held in high regard for the challenge it poses to amateur, elite and the professional golfer. As early as 1914, it hosted the Lancashire Amateur championship and has continued to host such 10 times. As you will see below In addition to twice hosting the Ryder Cup we have held many historical and important golfing tournaments, and most recently in 2023, we were a host for The Amateur Championship.

We began hosting professional events in 1917, when J. H Taylor, Ted Ray, and James Braid played an exhibition match to raise funds for the war effort to help wounded soldiers. This was the beginning of our long association with the professional game.

Our links has also hosted the British Ladies Amateur championship in 1936, being won by Pamela Barton and in her memory, The “Pam Barton Memorial Salver” is now awarded annually to the leading amateur golfer in the British Ladies Amateur Golf Championship.

Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club will however always be famous for its association with the Ryder Cup, hosting the event in 1933 and 1937. During the latter of which saw the American Team, led by their captain Walter Hagen, become the ‘first to win’ an overseas match with victory over Great Britain.

In the years immediately after the Second World War and on several occasions thereafter, we hosted the Dunlop 2000 Guineas Tournament, as well as The Swallow and Penfold 4000 Guineas, which had a first prize of £1000.  That competition was won by Christie O’Connor Snr and at the time this was seen as one of the richest prizes in British golf.

Over time our famous links has been host to some of the world’s greatest players. Jack Nicklaus played his first overseas professional tournament, the Piccadilly tournament, in 1962 at S&A. Peter Thompson, winner of 5 Open Championships, won that same Piccadilly Tournament and Arnold Palmer played the Nine Nations in 1965, representing USA. Others including; Gary Player, Bing Crosby, Sean Connery and more recently Justin Rose have all also graced us with their presence.

As a club we have also been fortunate to nurture many Amateur Champions including; Sam Robinson, Dixie Rawlinson, Geoff Roberts, Paul Howard, and Dr David.M.Marsh MBE, who sadly passed away in 2022. David was a great ambassador for the club He won the English Amateur Championship, was President of the Lancashire and English Golf Unions and he was also Captain of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club in 1990/91.  David was awarded the MBE in 2011 by the late Queen Elizabeth II in recognition of his services to Amateur Golf.

Our rich history continues and involvement in championship competitions runs very deep. The links continues to host events for both amateur and professional golf. We have a high pedigree and maintain high standards having hosted the Professional Ladies Qualification for the Ladies British Open Championship, (1979), The world’s elite Juniors graced the links in 2015, when the club co-hosted the British Boys Amateur championship.  High profile events continue to this day.

In 2023 we host The Professional Rose Ladies Series, The Amateur Championship and in autumn, The England Golf Men’s County Finals.

We hope that our heritage will continue to grow and remain for future generations to enjoy and share.  We have a strong love of the game and as a club we firmly continue to support and help develop the game of golf, both amateur and professionals will always be welcome.

2024The Ladies Rose Series
2023The Ladies Rose Series
2023The R&A Amateur Championship
2023EGU County Team Championship
2023The Professional Ladies Rose Series
2022Lancashire Amateur Championship
2019Final Seniors British Open
2015The R&A Boys Amateur Championship
2015Lancashire Ladies County Championship
2014Ladies British Open Championship – Final Qualifying
2013Senior British Open – Final Qualifying (Professional)
2012The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
2009Lancashire Amateur Championship
2008The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
2007McGregor Trophy (English Boys U16 Championship)
2006R&A Mid-Amateur Championship
2005The R&A Amateur Championship
2004Glenmuir Club Professional Championships
2001The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1998The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1996The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1994The Senior British Amateur
1993The English Mid Amateur (Logan Trophy)
1993Lancashire Amateur Championship
1991The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1989EGU Team Championship
1988The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1985The Senior British Amateur
1984The R&A Amateur Championship
1983The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1979The Ladies British Open Championship
1979Lancashire Amateur Championship
1976The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1973The British Youth Amateur Championships
1973Texaco Pro – AM
1972Texaco Pro – AM
1968Lancashire Amateur Championship
1965The Open Championship, Final Qualifying
1965Nine Nations Professional Tournament
1962The Piccadilly No.1 Tournament
1962Dunlop Tournament
1959Ryder Cup Team v Walker Cup Team
1957Dunlop 2000 Guineas
1957PGA Senior Championship
1956Lancashire Amateur Championship
1955The Swallow Penfold Tournament
1954PGA Senior Championship
1954Exhibition match – Percy Allis vs. Gene Sarazen
1954Dunlop 2000 Guineas
1948The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1946British Empire Challenge Match
1946The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1938Lancashire Amateur Championship
1938The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1937The Ryder Cup
1937The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1936The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1936The British Amateur Ladies Championships
1936Ladies Home Internationals
1934The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1933The Ryder Cup
1933The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1931The Dunlop Southport Tournament
1928Lancashire Amateur Championship
1917Exhibition match – J.H. Taylor, Ted Ray, James Braid and T.G Renouf
1914Lancashire Amateur Championship

Visitor Tee Booking